Superior Court of California County of Santa Clara

CONTACT JOSEPH D. MACALUSO Public Information Officer jmacaluso@scscourt.org (408) 882-2715 desk (408) 691-0046 cell



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: June 28, 2013

Santa Clara County Impanels New Civil Grand Jury

SAN JOSE, Calif. (June 28, 2013): the 2013-2014 Santa Clara County Civil Grand Jury was sworn in at the Impanelment Ceremony held on June 27, 2013. The Honorable Risë Jones Pichon, Assistant Presiding Judge of the Superior Court, announced the appointment of Bob E. Johnson from Milpitas as Foreperson. Mr. Johnson was a member of the 2012-2013 Grand Jury. Two other members from the 2012-2013 panel were selected to serve a second term: Charlene H. Laymon (San Jose) and Michael M. Lopez (Los Gatos).

The members of the 2013-2014 Grand Jury are: Malcolm R. Bramwell (San Jose), Cynthia Ann Cooper (San Jose), Rasik Desai (San Jose), Daniel I. Goodman (San Jose), Judith R. Gordon (San Jose), Rosalie Ann Govek (San Jose), Julia Jaroshenko (Sunnyvale), Elaine K. Larson (San Jose), Daryl L. Lavway (San Jose), Martin P. Moser (Sunnyvale), Kathleen L. O'Brien (San Jose), Anita A. Robles (San Jose), Ann E. Schutts (San Jose), Linda M. Snook (San Jose), Frances J. Stewart (Campbell) and Wilma F. Underwood (San Jose).

The Civil Grand Jury is Santa Clara County's watchdog agency. It has the authority to examine all aspects of county and city government, school districts, and special districts. As the county's investigatory body, it also has the authority to inspect local adult and juvenile detention facilities. The newly impaneled Grand Jury will serve until June 2014.

###