## CIVIL LAWSUIT NOTICE – RULE 3.740 COLLECTIONS CASE

Superior Court of California, County of Santa Clara 191 N. First Street, San José, CA 95113

CASE NUMBER:

## PLEASE READ THIS ENTIRE FORM

PLAINTIFF (the person suing): Within 180 days after filing the lawsuit, you must serve each defendant with the Complaint, Summons, and a copy of this Civil Lawsuit Notice -Rule 3.740 Collections Cases, and you must file written proof of such service.

**DEFENDANT** (The person being sued): You must do each of the following to protect your rights:

- 1. You must file a written response to the Complaint, using the proper legal form or format, in the Clerk's Office of the Court, within 30 days of the date you were served with the Summons and Complaint;
- 2. You must send a copy of your written response on the Plaintiff's attorney (to "serve by mail" means to have an adult other than yourself mail a copy to the Plaintiff's attorney); and
- 3. You must come to Court when you are notified of a Court date.

Warning: If you, as the Defendant, do not follow these instructions, you may automatically lose this case.

Your CASE MANAGEMENT JUDGE is: in DEPT:

Your Case Management Judge will hear any motions filed in your case before trial. A motion is a written request, filed with the Court, asking the Court to make decisions about your case.

You must follow California state laws and statutes, the California Rules of Court (CRC) and the Superior Court of California, County of Santa Clara Local Civil Rules and use proper forms. You will find more information and resources at the following websites:

- State Rules and Judicial Council Forms: www.courts.ca.gov ٠
- State laws and statutes: <u>www.leginfo.legislature.ca.gov</u> ٠
- Local Rules and Forms: www.scscourt.org
- Connect with local legal aid organizations and referral resources: LawhelpCA.org

Superior Court's Self Help Center (free):

- Court staff can give you the correct forms and written instructions on the filing process. The Self Help . Center is located inside the Family Justice Center Courthouse at 201 North First Street in San Jose. You will find more information at www.scscourt.org or call (408) 882-2900 (option 6)
- A free legal advice clinic is offered every Wednesday at the Self Help Center Workshop Room from 11:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., by Santa Clara University's Alexander Law Center. For more information, please call (408) 288-7030. or visit their website at www.http//law.scu.edu/kgaclc/courthouseclinic/

WARNING: Sanctions may be imposed if you do not follow the California Rules of Court or the Local Rules of Court.