Superior Court of California County of Santa Clara

CONTACT

JOSEPH D. MACALUSO Public Information Officer jmacaluso@scscourt.org (408) 882-2715 desk (408) 691-0046 cell



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: June 19, 2014

Finalists Announced for Santa Clara County's Top Citizen Watchdogs

The Discharge Ceremony of the current Civil Grand Jury and the Impanelment Ceremony of the 2014-2015 Civil Grand Jury will take place, Thursday, June 19, 2014.

SAN JOSÉ, California (June 19, 2014): The Honorable Brian C. Walsh, Presiding Judge of the Superior Court of California, County of Santa Clara, has announced the names of the final candidates for the 2014-2015 Civil Grand Jury. Judge Walsh has selected three members from the 2013-2014 Grand Jury to serve a second term. They are Kathleen E. Lynch (Saratoga), Wilma F. Underwood (San José), and Elaine K. Larson (San José), who has been appointed Foreperson. The new Grand Jury will be selected at the Impanelment Ceremony, today, June 19, 2014. Sixteen names will be drawn from the list of 25 finalists, to complete the 19-member panel of the 2014-2015 Civil Grand Jury. They will serve a one-year term, ending June 2015.

The Discharge Ceremony of the 2013-2014 Civil Grand Jury and the Impanelment Ceremony of the 2014-2015 Civil Grand Jury will take place today, June 19, 2014 at 4:00 P.M. in Department 17 of the Old Courthouse, 161 North First Street, San José, California. The public is invited to attend both ceremonies.

The Civil Grand Jury, as part of the judicial branch of government, is an arm of the Superior Court. It serves as the county's civil watchdog and has the authority to examine all aspects of county and city government, school districts, and special districts.

2014-2015 Santa Clara County Civil Grand Jury Finalists

Holdovers:

- 1. Elaine K. Larson (San José)
- 2. Kathleen E. Lynch (Saratoga)
- 3. Wilma F. Underwood (San José)

Finalists:

- 4. Allen Brown (San José)
- 5. James Cunningham, Jr. (San José)
- 6. Harold Echevarria (San José)
- 7. Robert Edwards (Los Gatos)
- 8. Kim Foster (San José)
- 9. Fannie Gibson (Santa Clara)
- 10. Michael Ginn (San José)
- 11. Michelle Hansen (San José)
- 12. Lydia Harris (Los Altos)
- 13. Carla Keen (Sunnyvale)
- 14. Dorothy Lee (Gilroy)
- 15. Robert Lobach (Morgan Hill)
- 16. Ernest Lombardi (San José)

- 17. Joe Lopez (San José)
- 18. Ralene Marcoccia San José
- 19. Richard McCliman (San José)
- 20. Jeanette Micko (San José)
- 21. Kathleen Ryan (San José)
- 22. Alvin Spears (San José)
- 23. Georgia Van Zanten (Los Gatos)
- 24. Reginaldo Villarreal (San José)
- 25. Rae Waldman (San José)
- 26. James Wright (San José)
- 27. Richard Zahner (San José)
- 28. Gilbert Zamora (San José)