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Self-Help Center/Family Law Facilitator’s Office, Superior Court, County of Santa Clara
201 N. First Street, San Jose, CA 95113

Visit our Websites: www.scscourt.org www.courts.ca.gov/selfhelp Call us: (408) 882-2926

Email us: www.scscourt.org click “Self-Help” then click “Contact the Self-Help Center”

Do you want to serve someone who is in
JAIL or PRISON in California?

JAIL
Follow these steps to locate and serve an inmate at Elmwood or the Main Jail:

 Locate inmate in jail in Santa Clara County (see page 2 of this flier for more information)
 You must either have the inmate’s PFN, booking number or first and last name.

 Make 3 copies of the forms you want to serve. Keep a 4th copy for your own records

 Have someone, NOT you, who is at least 18 years old, bring the 3 copies to:
 ELMWOOD: the West Gate at Elmwood Jail
 MAIN JAIL: the lobby at the Main Jail
and give the copies to the deputy.
NOTE: 6:00 am and 6:00 pm are the busiest times. For best service try going at other times.

 Whoever serves the forms must complete the proof of service form and give it back to you.

“Serve” means: someone, NOT you, who is at least 18 years old, must hand deliver (“serve”) the
filed copies to the deputy. The deputy will deliver the forms to the person who is incarcerated. You
can find a “Process Server” who will do this for a fee.

 You must file the original and a copy of this form at the court Clerk’s Office. The clerk will file
stamp the copy and give it back to you. Keep this copy for your records.

 The jail will deliver the forms to the person who is incarcerated.

PRISON
Follow these steps to locate and serve a California Department of Corrections

and Rehabilitation (Prison) inmate:

 Locate the inmate (see page 3 of this flier for more information)
 You must have either the inmate’s CDC number or the inmate’s full name
 If you search by name you also need to know their birth date or booking date
 It can take up to 7 business days to update location information for new or transferring

inmates

 Find the facility where the person is in custody by going to
http://www.cdcr.ca.gov/Facilities_Locator/index.html

 Call that facility to find out the correct service procedure for that facility. Follow their
instructions

Remember: People in jail and prison cannot have access to staples or
paperclips. Put a rubberband around the forms to keep them in order.
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Step 1.

Call 408-299-2306 or go to http://eservices.sccgov.org/ovr/find_inmate.do

Step 2.

If you go to the website, fill in the requested information:

Step 3

If this person is an inmate their information will be listed as below.

How to find out if someone is in
JAIL in Santa Clara County
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Step 1.

Call (916) 445-6713 or go to http://inmatelocator.cdcr.ca.gov

Step 2.

If you go to the website, click on “Agree” then fill in the requested information:

How to find out if someone is in
PRISON in California
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Step 3.

If this person is an inmate, you will locate their name and current location as shown
below:


