i.	
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9	GEORGE W. KENNEDY, DISTRICT ATTORNEY Bar Number. 052527 LAURA AIZPURU-SUTTON, DEPUTY DISTRICT ATTORNEY Bar Number 197438 COUNTY GOVERNMENT CENTER, WEST WING 70 W. Hedding Street San Jose, California 95110 Telephone: (408) 792-2874 Attorneys for The People SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF SANTA CLARA JUVENILE DIVISION
10 11	
12	STANDING ORDER
13	IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Pursuant to California Welfare and Institutions Code
14	§ 827(a)(1)(M), and as contemplated by California Welfare and Institutions Code § 828.3,
15	school hearing officers (i.e., those administrators that preside over school disciplinary
16	hearings) are hereby authorized to obtain police reports regarding the conduct of a juvenile
17	who is the subject of a school disciplinary hearing for an offense against the property,
18	students, or personnel of that school
19 20 21 22	Police reports regarding juveniles (hereinafter "juvenile police reports") are highly confidential. Thus, the disclosure and use of any juvenile police report obtained pursuant to this order are conditioned upon the following:
23 24 25 26	 a) Juvenile police reports are to be used <u>only</u> for the <u>limited purpose</u> of evaluating the juvenile at a school disciplinary hearing, and taking action upon such school disciplinary evaluations. These police reports may not be used for any other reason.
27 28	 b) Juvenile police reports are to be transmitted and disclosed directly to, and only to, school hearing officers. Because of the confidential nature of juvenile police reports, -1- STANDING ORDER

these reports shall not be given or transmitted to other school employees, staff, volunteers or nonparties to the specific acts for viewing, destruction, facsimile transmission, facsimile receipt, photocopying, etc.

c) Juvenile police reports shall be personally destroyed by each school hearing officer, (or a designated school hearing officer on behalf of the other officers), within 24 hours of the school disciplinary hearing. Where a notice of appeal of a school disciplinary decision has been filed, the juvenile police reports may be re-requested from the providing agency. A copy of the notice of appeal should be attached to that request. In the event of an appeal, the juvenile police report is to be destroyed within 24 hours of the end of the appeal period. In no instance is a juvenile police report to remain undestroyed longer than the period of appeal for a school disciplinary hearing. No juvenile police reports, or copies of the juvenile police reports, shall remain in the possession of the school, school files, or school hearing officers.

This order shall not interfere with, or supersede the rights of, any individuals (including authorized school personnel) to confidential juvenile information where specifically authorized by statute. This order does not supercede the required retention of records as described in California Welfare and Institutions Code § 827 subdivision (b).

Dated at San Jose, California, this 34 day of Januar 2003.

Honorable Raymond J. Davilla, Jr. Presiding Judge of the Juvenile Delinquency Court JUDGE OF THE SUPERIOR COURT

Q.4

STANDING ORDER