Superior Court of California County of Santa Clara

191 North First Street San Jose, California 95113 (408) 882-2700

Chambers of HONORABLE BRIAN C. WALSH, Presiding Judge

CONTACT Gloria Alicia Chacón Civil Grand Jury Coordinator (408) 882-2721



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: June 19, 2013

Finalists Announced for Santa Clara County's Top Citizen Watchdogs

The Discharge Ceremony of the current Civil Grand Jury and the Impanelment Ceremony of the 2013-2014 Civil Grand Jury will take place on Thursday, June 27, 2013.

SAN JOSE, Calif. (June 19, 2013): The Honorable Brian C. Walsh, Presiding Judge of the Superior Court of California, County of Santa Clara, has announced the names of the final candidates for the 2013-2014 Civil Grand Jury. Judge Walsh has selected three members from the 2012-2013 Grand Jury to serve a second term. They are Charlene H. Laymon (San José), Mike M. López (Los Gatos), and Bob E. Johnson (Milpitas), who has been appointed Foreperson. The new Grand Jury will be selected at the Impanelment Ceremony on June 27, 2013. Sixteen names will be drawn from the list of 26 finalists, to complete the 19-member panel of the 2013-2014 Civil Grand Jury. They will serve a one-year term, ending June 2014.

The Discharge Ceremony of the 2012-2013 Civil Grand Jury and the Impanelment Ceremony of the 2013-2014 Civil Grand Jury will take place on Thursday, June 27, 2013 at 4:00 P.M. in Department 17 of the Old Courthouse, 161 North First Street, San Jose, California. The public is invited to attend both ceremonies.

The Civil Grand Jury, as part of the judicial branch of government, is an arm of the Superior Court. It serves as the county's civil watchdog and has the authority to examine all aspects of county and city government, school districts, and special districts.

###

2013-2014 Santa Clara County Civil Grand Jury Finalists

<u>HOLDOVER</u> <u>CITY</u>

Bob E. Johnson
Charlene H. Laymon
Michael M. López
Mighies
Milpitas
San Jose
Los Gatos

NAME CITY

4. Sanford A. Berliner Saratoga 5. Malcolm R. Bramwell San Jose San Jose 6. Cynthia Ann Cooper 7. Rasik Desai San Jose 8. Daniel I. Goodman San Jose 9. Judith R. Gordon San Jose 10. Rosalie Ann Govek San Jose 11. Douglas E. Gutierrez San Jose 12. Julia Jaroshenko Sunnyvale 13. Elaine K. Larson San Jose San Jose 14. Daryl L. Lavway 15. Kathleen E. Lynch Saratoga 16. Martin P. Moser Sunnyvale 17 Kathleen L. O'Brien San Jose San Jose 18. JohnMichael O'Connor 19. Terence J. Riley San Jose 20. Constance J. Roberts Mountain View 21. Anita A. Robles San Jose

20. Constance J. Roberts Mountain Views 21. Anita A. Robles San Jose 22. Ann E. Schutts San Jose 23. Linda M. Snook San Jose 24. Frances J. Stewart Campbell 25. Daniel F. Stuhlmueller Los Gatos 25. Vincent J. Tarpey San Jose 27. Jennifer Anne Harr Tonnis San Jose 28. Wilma F. Underwood San Jose

29. James C. Wright

San Jose