## Superior Court of California County of Santa Clara

191 North First Street San Jose, California 95113 (408) 882-2700

Chambers of HONORABLE RICHARD J. LOFTUS, JR., Presiding Judge



## PRESS RELEASE

Contact: Gloria Alicia Chacón

Court Manager Civil Grand Jury 408-882-2721 June 27, 2012

**FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE** 

The 2012-2013 Santa Clara County Civil Grand Jury was sworn in at the Impanelment Ceremony held on June 21, 2012. The Honorable Richard J. Loftus, Jr., Presiding Judge of the Superior Court, announced the appointment of Steven P. McPherson from Los Altos as Foreperson. Mr. McPherson was a member of the 2011-2012 Grand Jury. Judge Loftus also named two other members from the 2011-2012 panel to serve a second term: Lyn H. Johnson (Los Gatos) and Lois G. Weil (Sunnyvale).

The members of the 2012-2013 Grand Jury are: Suzanne Allayaud (Los Gatos), Michael Beever (San José), Elizabeth Benson (San José), Kathleen Davidson (Los Gatos), Joseph Edens (San José), Ronald Hansen (San José), Chester Hayes (San José), Bob Johnson (Milpitas), Charlene Laymon (San José), Mandy Llamas (San José), Michael Lopez (Los Gatos), Daniel McCarthy (Sunnyvale), Mary McCullough (San José), Barbara Moore (Sunnyvale), Judy Shepherd (San José), and Francis Stephens (San José).

The Civil Grand Jury is Santa Clara County's watchdog agency. It has the authority to examine all aspects of county and city government, school districts, and special districts. As the county's investigatory body, it also has the authority to inspect local adult and juvenile detention facilities. The newly impaneled Grand Jury will serve until June 2013.